Protect yourself, family, friends and your community by following these prevention measures:
- Know Before You Go – Prior to leaving home, check the status of the park unit you want to visit to find out what restrictions and guidelines are in place. Have a back-up plan in case your destination is crowded. Stay home if you are sick.
- Plan Ahead - Some restrooms will be temporarily closed to keep up with cleaning schedules. Bring soap/hand sanitizer. Popular SNO-PARKS fill up quickly. Have alternative parks to visit. Research winter road conditions and make sure your vehicle is snow ready.
- Play It Safe – Find out what precautions you should take when exploring the outdoors, especially if this is your first time visiting the State Park System. Learn more at parks.ca.gov/SafetyTips.
- Be COVID-19 Safe – State Parks continues to meet guidance from local and state public officials as COVID-19 is still present and still deadly. Wear a mask when required. Read the latest face covering guidance.
- Leave No Trace – Leave areas better than how you found them by staying on designated trails and packing out all trash. Do not disturb wildlife or plants.
The SNO-Park program is coordinated and administered by the OHMVR Division of California State Parks, in conjunction with the U.S. Forest Service, the California Department of Transportation, the California Highway Patrol, and various community organizations. Through this collaborative effort, winter recreation opportunities are provided at 18 SNO-PARK sites along the Sierra Nevada. Distinctive brown signs located along highways identify the SNO-PARKs.
A SNO-Park permit is required for each vehicle parked at a SNO-Park site from November 1 through May 30 of each year. Permits are sold as Day Permits or Seasonal Permits. Day permits are sold for $5.00 and are valid for one single day. Season permits are sold for $25.00 and are valid for the entire SNO-Park season from November 1 through May 30.
- All permits sold are non-refundable; day permits are non-transferable.
- Any vehicle parked at a SNO-Park site without a permit properly displayed is subject to an $94.50 fine. Should you receive a fine and have questions, contact the court or law enforcement office of the County in which the SNO-Park site is located.
- Parking is on a first-come, first-served basis at all SNO-Park sites. No refunds are issued if your favorite SNO-PARK is full.
- Park and drive carefully within SNO-Park sites. Watch for pedestrians.
- Overnight parking, including in-vehicle camping is allowed except where noted or signed at SNO-Park sites.
- Tent camping or sleeping outside a vehicle in the parking area is prohibited at all SNO-Park sites.
- Vehicles parked overnight need to be staked at all 4 corners with 1x2 inch by 8-foot poles to prevent accidental damage by snow removal equipment.
- Do not build campfires on paved areas.
- Do not litter SNO-Park sites. Trash containers may not be provided, pack out your own refuse.
- Carry a shovel and tire chains.
- Lock your vehicle and do not leave items of value in sight.
Winter recreation activities may be hazardous. Your common sense, skill level, use of proper clothing, respect for the terrain and weather will combine to affect your safety.